A Lifted Hand

Cast your burden on the Lord,
and he will sustain you;
he will never permit
the righteous to be moved.
Psalm 55:22

The other day my daughter climbed up on a balance beam. It was a bit wobbly but in her confident excitement, she was undeterred. As she began to make her way across, I instinctively lifted by hand to assist her. It was no problem to me. I didn’t even give it a second thought. I was glad to do it.

This reminded me that God “lifts His hand” to steady us. It’s not a grudging thing. Somehow, He’s glad to do it. In fact, He’s more than a hand to reach for when things wobble. He’s the strength in my legs. He’s not only gladly helping me along. He’s the one who sustains me.

I’m afraid, like my daughter, I take for granted that I have a ready help in time of need. Most of the time, I’m pretty sure I can do it myself. But I can’t. What’s worse, when I think this way I miss the beautiful truth that God is eager to assist and sustain me for His glory!

Leave a Reply

